Club History

The village bowling club celebrated its 20th anniversary, September 2018

The club was formed in 1998 by some very keen members of the indoor short mat bowls group, who were enthusiastic in wanting to add an outdoor bowls club to the sporting activities in the village.

Land had to be found and after several years of disappointment for the group, founder members Bob Marshall and Jack Pengelly negotiated with the parish council to lease land that formed part of the old village car park to enable construction of the rinks and clubhouse.

The group then approached Glyn Larcombe, who became involved in the design and construction of the clubhouse pavilion, along with all the hard work he did on ground preparation.

A big driving force in getting the bowls club formed was the late Bob Marshall, who put in an enormous amount of time and physical effort - and funds - in enabling the site to be cleared for this new sporting facility.

There was a lot of hard work and determination from many of the early members, and included those who are still at the club today – Harold Hutt, Graham Sinclair, Denys and Dorothea Webb, Margaret Perkins and Trevor Dobson.

Many an hour was spent perusing plans, discussing and finding the best surface materials for the rink and negotiating everything in great detail - alongside their wine making activities.

The inaugural Committee was Tom Wareham (chairman), Ernie Coleman, Ray and Mavis Buckingham, Sheila Marshall, Sheila Wareham, Jack and Anne Young, Jan Meerbeek, Jack Pengelly and Ray Perkins. Bob Marshall was nominated as President.

Eventually their efforts were rewarded when the Wraysbury Bowls Club opened its rinks on Sunday, September 20, 1998. The pavilion was officially opened a year later in September, 1999 – the ribbon being cut by Lord Peter Archer.

The determination not to give up has resulted in a special sports club being available for everyone to still enjoy 20 years later!